Book Review: My GRL by John W. Howell

 Help celebrate this great author and his re-release of “My GRL” featuring a brand new cover!

Meet Author, John W. Howell.

bio-pic-john-howell

John began his writing as a full-time occupation after an extensive business career. His specialty is thriller fiction novels, but John also writes poetry and short stories. His first book, My GRL, introduces the exciting adventures of the book’s central character, John J. Cannon. The second Cannon novel, His Revenge, continues the adventure, while the final book in the trilogy, Our Justice, launched in September 2016. All books are available on Amazon in paperback and Kindle editions.

John lives in Port Aransas, Texas with his wife and their spoiled rescue pets.

book-cover-my-grl-re_release_

John J. Cannon successful San Francisco lawyer takes a leave of absence from the firm and buys a boat he names My GRL. He is unaware that his newly-purchased boat had already been targeted by a terrorist group. John’s first inkling of a problem is when he wakes up in the hospital where he learns he was found unconscious next to the dead body of the attractive young woman who sold him the boat in the first place. John now stands between the terrorists and the success of their mission.

MY REVIEW OF MY GRL 🌟🌟🌟🌟🌟

I’m always a little skeptical when I begin reading an author with whom I’m unfamiliar, especially when they are writing in my favorite genre.

I go into any book,  with high anticipation tempered by restraint.

I immediately walked into unfamiliar terrain. I have never read a  work of fiction with the perspective of first person present before. It felt a little uncomfortable at first, but the plot it is so intensely gripping that my discomfort disappeared rapidly, and I settled back excited to continue.

I found myself liking the pivotal character John Cannon, he had depth, and a quirky, often wry, sense of humor. Author John W. Howell incorporates pithy one-liners throughout the book, and some of them actually had me laughing out loud as I read. The humor affords the reader the chance to draw a deep breath: You’ll need it, as the pacing of this book is fast, the tension high, and the suspense is nerve shattering.

I’m one of those dreadful people that seem to successfully predict the outcome of books and movies: NOT this time. Author John Howell has nailed it. I took the bait several times, then found myself chuckling at just how wrong I’d been.

We are given deep insights into what drives John Cannon. A couple of reviewers call the character of John Cannon, naive. My take is that the character has a profound love for his country, he is a total and unwavering patriot, and uncaring of who knows it. His apparent naivety,  for me at least, equates to his unwillingness to judge things without deep introspection.

At times I wanted to grab the character by the throat and shake him, and in my opinion, that is precisely what the author wanted us to do. He allows John Cannon to be human, a guy you’d want to invite over for a cook out; a guy with flaws, dreams and desires.

. John Cannon becomes three dimensional and highly visual. THAT for me is the trademark of a fine author.

This author encapsulates all that any reader could ask for in the pages of this book.

My GRL is the first book in a THREE book series.

I’m heading off to buy book 2.

Talent Spotter images links for Liza Oconnor

John Howells Blog

John W.Howell Author PAGE AMAZON

PURCHASE MY GRL HERE ON AMAZON

PURCHASE BOOK 2 ‘His Revenge” Here

PURCHASE BOOK 3 “OUR JUSTICE” HERE

Connect with John W. Howell on TWITTER here @HowellWave

Save

Save

3 thoughts on “Book Review: My GRL by John W. Howell

Leave a Reply

